I wanna take you to a gay bar

16 04 2010

In an effort to expand my horizons and learn more about a culture with which I have always been fascinated, I asked my good friend Brian if he would accompany to a gay bar/club/lounge Thursday night. Always down for an adventure, Brian agreed and the two of us decided The Abbey in West Hollywood would be the place to go.

From watching films and television shows I have always had a preconceived notion about the “gay scene” and the environment, people and behavior one may encounter there. While some of my beliefs were confirmed (stereotypes are usually in place for a reason) last night I found my perception of this culture challenged an altered so much so that I cannot wait to make another trip to WeHo — as soon as I can come up with $60 for cab fare.

The Abbey is located in West Hollywood at Santa Monica and Robertson and doubles as a restaurant and bar transitioning into a more club-like atmosphere by around 10pm. In an effort to fit and and appear as though I wasn’t a total novice I took only one photo last night (although I really, REALLY wanted to pose with one of the beautiful go-go dancers). However, I did manage to sneak a snapshot while Brian and I smoked a cigarette and pretended to be immersed in a wildly engaging conversation. The Abbey is beautifully constructed and lit to perfection, creating a soft and alluring glow wherever you look. Add the ambiance to the seemingly endless remixes of Lady Gaga and I could have been in heaven. Bad Romance indeed.

I have to admit — I was pretty nervous. My previous experience with gay culture consisted of hanging out with Brian, who admittedly has no gay friends and frequents the scene about as often as I do. I was glad to venture to The Abbey with someone I know and trust, a fabulous gay man who taught me not to smile at people and the difference between a look of attraction and his favorite, “What are you?” As it turns out they are strikingly similar, but luckily I’m a fast learner. It has a lot to do with the eyebrows.

Brian and I encountered a vast array of people who were not all necessarily gay, and it was not as easy as I had imagined to identify who was who. At one point I was sure a tall handsome man was eyeing me until he approached the guy behind me, who was admittedly much better looking than myself. No hard feelings.

The most striking part of the evening was how comfortable I felt with my surroundings. I have never considered myself a homophobe by any means, but I wasn’t quite sure how I would feel when thrown into an environment where I was the minority. As we were leaving, one of the amazingly muscular semi-nude dancers from the top of the bar brushed past me, and put his hand on the small of my back. He said, “You look beautiful tonight.”

Gaypproval? Maybe. Needless to say, I’ll be going back soon.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 04 2010
Brian

I gaypprove

29 04 2010
chapternine26

I dig it.

Leave a Reply

